Computer Science and Information Technology

NEWS LETTER

Issue 1 (Jul - Dec 2016)

Issue 2 (Jan - Jul 2017)

The Department of Computer Science and Information Technology was established in the year 1999. Initially the department introduced the Under Graduate Program in 1999; later in 2006 the Post Graduate Program was launched. Over the past few years, the department has acquired National and International Importance, which is achieved by the collective and responsible efforts of the faculty and the students.

Presently, it offers:

  • Associative Degree Programs  
    • Management Information System
    • Information Science & Technology
    • Computer Science majors
  • Bachelor degree programs  
    • Management Information System
    • Information Science & Technology
    • Computer Science majors
  • Master degree program (M.Tech.)
    • Computer Science.

The department has well qualified faculty and staff members. The Department follows principles to maintain the quality of Teaching and Research. At present, the department has 20 faculty members in all, with 7 PhD and 13 Master qualifications. The department periodically conducts seminars, workshops, faculty induction program and industrial visit for the benefit of staff and students.

Vision

To be in forefront of technology and innovation of Computer Science that permeates all modern endeavors in academia aimed towards betterment of society and developing the ways to success through IT.

Mission

Our mission, as a constituent unit in the academic mission of the Mazoon College, is to:

  • Design, implement, and modernize a high quality educational environment in computer science that contributes to knowledge in fundamental and applied areas.
  • Maintain an awareness of current needs, and anticipated future needs of the community by recognizing the growing interdisciplinary nature of computer science. 
  • Provide undergraduate education with a strong background in the fundamentals of computer science to foster intellectual maturity, to emphasize knowledge that is relevant to technological and business needs, and to prepare the student for advanced studies.
  • Promote graduate education with a leading edge research in the major areas of computer science and to educate students with an enriched research experience relevant to an industrial or academic career.

Graduate Attributes

  • Be able to use a range of programming languages and tools to develop computer programs and systems that are effective solutions to problems.
  • Be able to understand, design, and analyze precise specifications of algorithms, procedures, and interaction behavior.
  • Be able to apply mathematics, logic, and statistics to the design, development, and analysis of software systems.
  • Be equipped with a range of fundamental principles of computer science that will provide the basis for future learning and enable them to adapt to the constant rapid development of the field.
  • Have experience of working in teams to build software systems.

Staff Directory

S.No. Name of the Faculty Designation Extn Email ID
1 Dr. A. Mohamed Abbas HOD 337 hodcs@muc.edu.om,abbas@muc.edu.om
3 Dr. Mohammed Jameel Hashmi Assistant Professor & Acting Head, Quality Assurance Dept. 310 jameel@muc.edu.om
4 Dr. M.S. Saleem Basha Assistant Professor & Research Centre Incharge 318 saleem@muc.edu.om
5 Mr. Abdul Muqtadir Lecturer 346 muqtadir@muc.edu.om
6 Mr. Mohammad Arshad Lecturer 346 arshad@muc.edu.om
7 Dr. Mohammad Aftab Alam Assistant Professor 346 aftab@muc.edu.om
8 Mr. Meble Varghese Lecturer 346 meble@muc.edu.om
9 Ms. RajRani Inderpal Gupta Lecturer 313 raj.rani@muc.edu.om
10 Ms. Gazala Yusufi Lecturer 313 gazala@muc.edu.om
11 Ms. Rowaida Al-Abdullah Lecturer 346 rowaidah@muc.edu.om
12 Mr. Abdullah Akhtar Lecturer 356 akhtar@muc.edu.om
13 Dr. Mohammed Daiyan Assistant Professor 389 daiyan@muc.edu.om
14 Mr. Mohammed Nasar Lecturer 346
nasar@muc.edu.om
15 Dr. Shamsher Khan Assistant Professor 346 shamsher@muc.edu.om
16 Mr. Kareemullah Shiek Lecturer 346 Kareemullah@muc.edu.om
17 Ms. Nadia Khalique Lecturer 346 nadia@muc.edu.om
18 Dr. Toukeer Khan Lecturer 346 toukeer@muc.edu.om